Brazilian Cooking

By Anna Rose Meeds

ingredients
Some of the ingredients

What might happen if you try your hardest, but that is still not good enough? Can you accomplish something great even if you make a mistake? Do you need to be perfect to leave a great impression?

The Brazilian bobsled team in the Sochi Olympics showed that it is possible to not win but still win over hearts and inspiration. Impressive fundraising helped them get there. While in Russia, the teams continued to work hard and inspire fellow athletes. Finally, the women survived a horrific crash. Obviously, they accomplished much although they did not place first.

The beans being soaked before being boiled and soaked for an hour
Measuring and rinsing the beans

In honor of them, I cooked a Brazilian recipe: Coconut Beans or Feijão de Coco. This soup-like recipe blends sweet and salty. Although it did not end up perfect, I learned from my cooking and gave my family an unique supper.

There were several mistakes – or alterations – that I made during this recipe. However, these helped me to learn how to be a better cook instead of making me feel like a loser.

Cooking for another hour after it soaks
Cooking for another hour after it soaks

First, the beans should be soaked overnight according to the recipe. Instead, I took the quicker option of boiling and soaking them for an hour. Although still time-consuming, it is not more than 24 hours of work.

Adding the spices
Adding the spices

Red wine vinegar

Secondly, my timing still was wrong. I forgot that you needed to boil the beans with spices for another hour. Thus, we ended up eating around 7:30.

Finally, I followed the recipe and added 2 Tbsp plus 1 tsp of salt. My mother remarked at that large amount. Turns out, the dish was good but a bit too salty. Next time, I will reduce that ingredient.

Mixing the coconut milk and sugar
Mixing the coconut milk and sugar

Overall, my family and I enjoyed this recipe. Making coconut beans also helped me to let got of being perfect and instead focus on leaving a great impression like the Brazilian bobsledding team.

Mixing the coconut milk with the beans
Mixing the coconut milk with the beans
About annarosemeeds

I am a writer and speaker who wants to spread hope, truth, and awareness. After struggling through many years of depression, eating disorders, anxiety, aspergers, and numerous other illnesses, I have finally begun to see a light at the end of the tunnel which I want to share with all those who need encouragement and support. Creativity and imagination play an important role in my life and recovery.

4 thoughts on “Brazilian Cooking

  1. Hi, Anna! Thanks for the post honoring the Brazilian team in Sochi.
    You mentioned that your beans winded up a bit salty. Did you use the same amount of both beans and coconut milk stated in my recipe? My beans were more sweet than salty actually. So I don’t fully understand how yours winded up a bit salty. Looking at some of your pictures it seems not that much beans. I saw 1 cup dry beans measured in the pic above. One pound of beans called for in my recipe is about 2 cups of dry beans which means the double of the amount shown above. If you used 1/2 of the amount of beans called for in my recipe, you should have used 1/2 of the amount of salt as well.

    1. Thanks so much for commenting! I loved the recipe. Although there is only one cup of beans in the picture, I did end up using two cups of beans. They did end up being very sweet but a bit salty as well.

Leave a Reply

