Creating a Board Game in 7.5 Simple Steps

By Anna Rose Meeds

How often do you sit down and play a board game? Growing up, I loved this family time. Why is it that we play less as we grow older? Sure, our lives become more busy, but sometimes taking a break to play a game releases stress. Even better is to use creativity to make a board game.

Creating your own game might sound overly ambitious. However, it can be done with a bit of creativity and 30 minutes. To prove that point, I will show you how in 7.5 simple steps.

    1. Create a simple story.  Every game has a story. King Kandy is missing or spaces need to be built up with hotels.  Channel the inner writer in yourself.
    2. Decide the story end. This is the goal for each player. They want to have the most green apple cards, money, or correct answers.
    3. Choose your setting or medium. Will you use cards, a board, or tokens?
    4. Write the directions. Do not worry too much about them yet.
    5. Create a rough draft of each needed piece. Sketch or type them out. These do not need to be elaborate.
    6. Play the game quickly. Note any mistakes or loop holes that you find.
    7. Edit the game. See, it really is like being a writer.
7.5. Play again with friends. Enjoy!

Here is my game following these steps and the time frame.

  1. My story is each princess wants to find her perfect prince.
  2. The goal is to match the right princess with her prince. The player with the most wins.
  3. The medium is cards with matching princesses and princes.
  4. The rules are to deal all of the cards. On their turn, each player chooses a card and another player who also chooses a card. Then both turn the cards over to see if there is a match. If so, the first receives a point, and the second takes a turn.
  5. Rough draft of card
    Rough draft of card

    6 – 7.5 Game played, revised to add frogs that make another player give you a match, and then played again.

Related Posts:

 

About annarosemeeds

I am a writer and speaker who wants to spread hope, truth, and awareness. After struggling through many years of depression, eating disorders, anxiety, aspergers, and numerous other illnesses, I have finally begun to see a light at the end of the tunnel which I want to share with all those who need encouragement and support. Creativity and imagination play an important role in my life and recovery.

6 thoughts on “Creating a Board Game in 7.5 Simple Steps

  1. What a cute idea! This is really creative and it sounds so fun. My family grew up playing many, many games, so I’m a little worried that I won’t be able to think of anything original. Any ideas on how to get a creative start?

    1. Thanks so much! Being creative can be difficult. I think that playing off of another idea is ok as long as it is not a complete copy. Another way to think creatively is to listen to music or or look at art. Then just take one central idea (no matter how random) and try to form an idea off of that. I don’t know if that makes any sense, but that is something that I try sometimes.

  2. I grew up in a family where we played games and cards on a regular basis. It is these times that have cemented some of the best memories with my family members. I’ve never tried to make my own game and I’m not sure I’m creative enough to do it, but it certainly is a fun idea.

  3. What a terrific idea! I’m particularly drawn to Step 2: decide how the story will end. Working backwards from an endpoint is so useful in so many things in life–especially a game.

Leave a Reply

