Painting to Relax

Remember how fun craft time was when you were a kid? There was something so wonderful about being able to pull out the paint supplies and go wild, without any pressure to create a fantastically beautiful piece. Today’s art burst is about recreating that feeling.

As I mentioned in last Friday’s post, my paintings tend to look the same as they did in kindergarten; however, I do love the feeling of a brush in my hand, so for today’s post, I decided to paint rocks. This is a pretty flexible activity since paints and brushes aren’t hard to find at Target or Michael’s and little stones are scattered all over the place. (I dug mine out of the snow in front of the dorm.)

IMG_8373This art burst can take as long or as short as you want. I just put on some music, threw some paint blobs on a paper plate, and began “doodling” on the pebbles. As you can see, I didn’t become very creative with how my pebbles looked. I tried to make them look pretty at first, but then I gave up. Besides, I reasoned, what does it matter what they look like? That’s not the point here.

Maybe you’re going through a stressful time right now. Things are hectic at work, homework is piling up, or maybe you’ve had an argument recently with a good friend. I would encourage you to take a break, just for a half hour or so, and do something to relax. This art burst is a good way to unwind after a hard day. The point isn’t to create a gorgeous painting – it’s simply to enjoy the process of painting.

Give yourself a treat. This may be a day that you need one.

3 thoughts on “Painting to Relax

  1. Love this! I wholeheartedly believe there is something gently therapeutic about creating something – be it small or big, messy or wild. Just go with it and no judgement. Your little rocks are adorable and inspiring! 😉

    1. Wow! Your comment just made my day. 😀 I’m glad you feel the same way about painting. 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

