Filling in the Accidental Gaps

By Anna Rose Meeds

“Accidental gap” – When I first heard that phrase, I did not understand what it meant.  Something that has a hole in it?  Leaving out something that you were supposed to pack?  A pause when the speaker forgets what to say?

Well, all of these guessed definitions form part of an accidental gap.  According to Glottopedia which is a linguistic website, “an accidental gap is a non-existing word which is expected to exist given the hypothesized morphological rules of a particular language.”  Put plainly, it is a word that does not exist in our language but does in other ones such as “unsad” or “love between best friends.”  Here is a great video that shows this.

Often, I find myself searching for explaining something in a way outside of the English language.   How often do you think to yourself, “I wish there was a word for that!”  We have over a million English words, and yet we continue to create more to describe the world and each other.

So I decided to write a short haiku to describe some of my favorite words in the video.

Gigil (Filipino) – the urge to pinch a cute thing on the cheek.

Fat, round, rosy, plump
Baby’s cheeks draw the fingers
Aunt’s touch causing screams.

Ya’arburnee (Arabic) – meaning “may you bury me” in hopes that you die before the other person

Rings upon our hands,
My life with you must not end
Until my grave calls.

Related Posts:

 

About annarosemeeds

I am a writer and speaker who wants to spread hope, truth, and awareness. After struggling through many years of depression, eating disorders, anxiety, aspergers, and numerous other illnesses, I have finally begun to see a light at the end of the tunnel which I want to share with all those who need encouragement and support. Creativity and imagination play an important role in my life and recovery.

2 thoughts on “Filling in the Accidental Gaps

Leave a Reply

