Need to Find a New Identity, Eh?

Trip to England
Watson and Holmes certainly had accents.

By Anna Rose Meeds

Today, my optimism and energy seemed drained away by some invisible force.  For some odd reason, every artistic idea flopped that I contemplated doing for this blog.  How was I suppose to write about creativity when all I wanted was to get through the day in one piece?

Thus, I decided to take on a new identity for a short time.  This evening, my friend invited me to a tea party.  Instead of sneaking away and hiding behind a novel, I will attend and chat with others.  However, every sentence that I say will be in a different voice or accent.

Sometimes, escaping from yourself can be a relief.  Imitating others and taking on a new identity opens up your eyes to others as well as giving you a break from yourself.  That is one of the reasons that acting is so fun.

So trying out different ways of talking might sound funny.  However, it will help me to socialize while allowing my creative side to go wild.  Besides, what goes better with tea than a British accent?

Here are a few of the accents and voices that I plan to attempt tonight:

  • British
  • the Wicked Witch
  • Irish
  • Baby talk
  • French
  • Gollum
  • German
  • Shirley Temple
  • Hispanic

What are some of your favorite accents or imitations?  I would love more ideas for the future.

Related articles:

About annarosemeeds

I am a writer and speaker who wants to spread hope, truth, and awareness. After struggling through many years of depression, eating disorders, anxiety, aspergers, and numerous other illnesses, I have finally begun to see a light at the end of the tunnel which I want to share with all those who need encouragement and support. Creativity and imagination play an important role in my life and recovery.

Leave a Reply

