Sherlock & Scones

 Is it just me, or does everyone seem to be talking about Sherlock Holmes lately? The first few episodes of season three have been aired recently, and all of my BBC nerd-friends have been talking non-stop about it.

Okay, maybe I shouldn’t sound so pompous. I like watching Sherlock too. 🙂 Anyway, in honor of our American love for all-things-English, I decided to make some scones for today’s short art burst.

But first, let’s make it clear that I’m not a baker. I’m one of those people who awkwardly stumble around kitchens just to find a spatula for mac ‘n’ cheese. However, my dad, ever the master chef, said that this was a fairly easy recipe and only takes 35 minutes. Easy right?

IMG_8357

IMG_8358

IMG_8359

Surprisingly, yes. The recipe comes from an old Betty Crocker cookbook and after 35 minutes, I was biting into a warm, flaky scone. (Along with a cup of tea, naturally.) Scones keep for several days too, so while I made them last Saturday, they will still be edible in time for the next episode of Sherlock.

If you’re new to baking like me, here are some tips I learned:

  1. Add as much dried fruit as possible; it really adds more to the flavor.
  2. When kneading the dough, remember that you’re packing, not massaging it.
  3. While they’re in the oven, use a low rack.

What about you? Do you like to bake? Are there favorite recipes that you would like me to try?

Happy baking!IMG_8369

4 thoughts on “Sherlock & Scones

Leave a Reply

