Can You Outfit Shop Creatively on a Budget

By Anna Rose Meeds

Pink, red, and black dress
Pink, red, and black dress: $3.99

How do you find inexpensive but classy clothing?  Is it possible to look attractive while spending a small amount of money?  Are brand name items worth the price or can one stand out while still saving cash?

These are questions that I have heard many young adults pondering.  Growing up, I was taught to enjoy well-made clothing but look for deals.  One of the best places to find these hidden treasures is at a thrift store or Goodwill.

Pink shirt with checkered skirt
Pink shirt with checkered skirt: $7.99

Perhaps you do not regard shopping as art.  However, there is a certain creativity involved in searching for something new, unique, or useful.  Choosing between different items not only requires logic but imagination.  How will this dress make you look as opposed to that one?  What cookie will make your roommates the happiest?  Should you spend money on something you trust or take a chance on a new item?  All of these choices help you to think outside of the box.  Putting together parts of an outfit while clothing shopping especially brings out this creative quality.

Gold and brown outfit
Gold and brown outfit: $7.99

Today I challenged myself to go to a Goodwill store with a close friend. My goal was to find several cute but inexpensive outfits and then chose one.  Right away, many sweaters and skirts caught my attention.  However, I finally narrowed down my choices to a few items.

This activity brought creativity into my life in several ways.  First of all, shopping is an art as mentioned above.  Secondly, incorporating another person into this activity gave him a chance to use his imagination as well.  Having another person participate in creative events can make them more enjoyable.  Plus, having him along added the skill of photography to this experience.  Finally, learning how to deal with money is not just a boring task; it involves creative thinking.  Learning to spend cash wisely while still having fun will be helpful later.

Related Posts:

About annarosemeeds

I am a writer and speaker who wants to spread hope, truth, and awareness. After struggling through many years of depression, eating disorders, anxiety, aspergers, and numerous other illnesses, I have finally begun to see a light at the end of the tunnel which I want to share with all those who need encouragement and support. Creativity and imagination play an important role in my life and recovery.

7 thoughts on “Can You Outfit Shop Creatively on a Budget

  1. Ahhh…you look so cute. I really think the pink sweater and the checkered skirt look nice one you. I like shopping at thrift stores too. Not just the clothes, although that can be fun, you can find so many other interesting things to.

  2. I love Goodwill and thrift stores too. It’s fun to find gems in the racks and racks of stuff! The thrill of a great find is a wonderful feeling. Which thrift stores besides Goodwill are your favorites?

    1. There certainly are some gems in that store! Finding a great deal always picks me up a little bit. Other thrift stores that I enjoy are local ones usually. Do you have certain ones that you like?

  3. Thank you for posting a link to my Fashion and Fiction at Goodwill post. Isn’t shopping at Goodwill the best thing? I love to do just what you described: try on a bunch of outfits and pick one. Or try to recreate a fashion look from Polyvore.com or a fashion magazine. Too much fun!

Leave a Reply

