Play Us a Song, Piano Girl!

Whenever I think of music, one of the first instruments that pops into my head is the piano.  Now, I’m not a piano player, but I do love its sound, so for today’s short burst of art, I decided to try to play the piano.  Granted, I didn’t have any music and I couldn’t remember where Middle C was, but that’s okay. I just sat down at one of the pianos at school and began to play.   I’m not sure that it sounded exactly like music, but I’d like to think that it sounded a little better than just some girl banging on a piano.

I found this to bpianoe incredibly soothing.  This week has been pretty tough and it was therapeutic to press and play those ivory keys.  Shutting my eyes really helped too and made it easier to imagine that I was playing a great concerto rather than random notes.  Something I liked to do was to press one low key with the pedal, and let that ring as my fingers played on the higher note keys.

This challenge is a little hard for those of you who don’t have access to pianos at school, but I would encourage you to try this with any instrument you can.  Borrow a friend’s guitar and strum a little bit, or maybe pull out that recorder that you’ve had since 5th grade and blow a few notes.  The point isn’t to make loud noise – it’s simply to relax.

Is there an instrument you tried to play today?  Did it work out?  I’d love to hear your experience! 🙂

I included the “Piano Man” song by Billy Joel since this post needed something to explain the title a little further. 😉

6 thoughts on “Play Us a Song, Piano Girl!

  1. I used to play piano when I was little, and your blog post made me want to rush home and bang on my small piano in my parent’s living room. This was an excellent post. It brought back a lot of nostalgia.

    P.S. you were really brave to go down in the piano rooms to play when others could hear you. 🙂

    1. Ha ha, thank you! To be perfectly honest though, it was a Saturday and barely anyone was there. 😉 Thank you for the comment though!

  2. I took piano lessons for seven years, and today I would probably be hard-pressed to even conjure up anything that even sounds like a tune. You’re right, though; the most fun I had during that entire stretch wasn’t finally learning that complicated piece or performing for my church. It was just sitting down and plucking away at things that sounded nice. Music opens up almost a fantasy world with only a few rules and infinite possibilities of exploration. Tinkering with making your own musical world, especially in a judgement free zone of peace and quite, can be very relaxing.

    1. Absolutely! I think music is like writing in the sense that it does have “good” vs. “bad” stuff but anyone can still do it. You don’t have to be an expert. It’s a very forgiving activity. 😉 Thanks for the response!

    1. No kidding. It is a little difficult, but I also find it freeing. The less you know, the less you know how much you’re messing up right? (Hopefully.) Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

