Photography: Finding the Creative in the Mundane

By Anna Rose Meeds

Pastry
Pastry at the Cafe on campus

Today, I decided to use my new camera to take some photographs.  This creativity challenge might seem simple, but walking the halls of school trying to find interesting subjects filled my day. Every potential item intrigued me but then seemed like a lame choice.

In a world where anyone can snap a picture with their phone, I feel silly attempting to be a photographer. If the finished product does not look perfect, what is the point? That harsh philosophy has been my past belief.

Fall meets winter
Fall meets winter

However, I decided to put aside my past perfectionism and focus on creativity. All of my pictures were subjects that inspired me. Most of them are from my university campus, but a few were from my home. Opening my eyes to the beauty in even small things such as water drops on the floor or the curve in a chair helped me to see the wonder in my classmates, school and nature.

Sure, my photography skills leave much to be desired still. But this exercise helped me to try something new while enjoying the small but exquisite elements of daily life.

Here are a few more of the pictures that I took today:

Column
A beautiful column
Drips on a drainage pipe
Drips on a drainage pipe
Pop machine
Where the pop comes out
Winter hats
Cute hats
Wooden doors
Wooden doors
Lone glove
Lone glove on a bench
Cute scarf
Colorful scarf
Apple basket
Apple basket
Ice cream cones
Ice cream cones
Building
A beautiful old building on campus
Creative outfit
Creative outfit for the cold
Window to hall
Window to hall full of offices
Frosty window
Frosty window
Crack in the floor
Crack in the floor
Tape hands
Getting tape for homework

Similar articles that you might enjoy:

About annarosemeeds

I am a writer and speaker who wants to spread hope, truth, and awareness. After struggling through many years of depression, eating disorders, anxiety, aspergers, and numerous other illnesses, I have finally begun to see a light at the end of the tunnel which I want to share with all those who need encouragement and support. Creativity and imagination play an important role in my life and recovery.

4 thoughts on “Photography: Finding the Creative in the Mundane

Leave a Reply

